Adriano Zumbo

Shop 1A, 40 East Esplanade
Manly, NSW 2095
(02) 9810 7318
adrianozumbo.com

If you’re ever in Sydney and looking for something to while the afternoon away, hop on a Manly-bound ferry down at Circular Quay. For a $14 return ticket, the 30-minute journey gives you some of the city’s best views. Make sure you get a seat out on the front deck and soak up some sunshine along the way!

G and I were incredibly lucky to fly in on a perfect 33 degree day and we couldn’t think of anything better to do with our afternoon than kicking it on the beach. We weren’t meaning to stop by the Manly edition of Adriano Zumbo’s macaron enterprise as we knew a certain dessert train was waiting for us to hop on at The Star, but then again, how could we not? ;)

We spent a good ten minutes walking up and down East Esplanade on the hunt for the infamous Zumbarons. I even dug out my phone and started following the moving blue dot on Google maps only to find ourselves staring at a brick wall. Long story short, look for the kayak rental store across the road from the Manly Wharf Hotel – Zumbo’s patisserie in the back.

We walked in with the intention of buying three or four, so naturally we ended up walking out with nine or ten. Clearly, my resolve is a little shaky when it comes to these bite-sized beauties. If macarons aren’t your thing, the Manly store also carries a number of cakes, pastries and tarts to tickle your pickle. Not a croquembouche in sight, though :(

There’s a seating area next door, but we ended up taking them down to Chinatown to the pier and downed them like fish and chips.

G and I had a blast taste testing each macaron! The flavours were so distinct, I could have blindfolded myself and named them all accordingly. My favourite one by far was the Salted Butter Popcorn. It was like reaching into a real bucket of popcorn, but so much better. The sweet, marshmallow-esque filling complemented the slightly salty, popcorn-coated macaron shells like a dream. The Malted Milkshake came in at a close second. The vibrant turquoise and shimmery exterior was a little counter-intuitive, but the malty flavour was certainly there. Yum. We also picked up a Salt and Vinegar Zumbaron on a whim, which wasn’t nearly half as disgusting as I imagined it would be :) The balsamic was very pronounced, but not overwhelmingly so. Definitely one to try if you’re up for something a little different!

From left to right: Malted Milkshake, Pineapple & Lime, Peach Iced Tea, Salted Butter Caramel, Choc Mint, Salted Butter Popcorn, Musk, Chocolate Doughnut, Lamington (2.5 each)

If you’d asked me what a macaron was three years ago, I probably would have pointed you in the direction of some French car model or obscure article of clothing. Thanks largely to Adriano Zumbo, though, macarons are now something of an institution in Australia. I take my hat off to him – the guy is a mastermind when it comes to crazy, innovative flavours and insanely beautiful desserts.

Adriano Zumbo on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Adriano Zumbo

  1. Here’s another vote for the salted popcorn macaron – it’s the BEST!

    We were in Sydney last week for a half day stopover before returning home to Melbourne. We were at The Star and the plan was to buy a box of macarons from Zumbo to take home (I had my eye on the pineapple and lime one, and that weird-sounding salt and vinegar one) but I was feeling queasy from eating way too many oysters and sashimi from the fish market that any thought of food would send my head spinning… so I left empty-handed :(

    Ah well, next time!

  2. How has Adriano Zumbo not set up shop in Melbourne yet?! :( I’d be eating those salted popcorn macarons every day if I had my way!

    Hahaha, I went through a similar experience when I was up in Sydney. My friend and I ate HEAPS so we were going to give The Star a miss because we’d already been to the Manly store… but then we saw the dessert train. And we realised we couldn’t leave without grabbing a few treats :D

    Hope you had a great time up there! :)

Leave a Reply

