Adriano Zumbo Pâtissier

Shop 1, Café Court
The Star
80 Pyrmont St
Pyrmont, NSW 2009
adrianozumbo.com/the-star-pyrmont/

G and I couldn’t wrap up our Sydney weekender without another dose of Adriano Zumbo. If there’s a dessert train within walking/driving/flying distance, I will move mountains to get on that train. And if there’s UNLIMITED SOFT SERVE (that got your attention, didn’t it?) aboard that dessert train, then I’m never getting off. Ever. 😉

By this point in the trip, we had pretty much eaten our weight’s worth in food, so we were feeling a little queasy to say the least. But as soon as we saw the hot pink neon signs, the crazy awesome macaron display and the dessert train chug-chuggin’ away, all signs of nausea miraculously disappeared.

We didn’t have to wait too long before two seats were made available. I couldn’t stop jiggling around in my seat, I was so psyched! If you haven’t had a chance to swing by Adriano Zumbo at The Star yet, dessert prices are indicated by plate colour. White plates are $5, pink plates are $6 and black plates (reserved for macarons and petits gateau) are $10.

The hazelnut dacquoise (5.0) was my first pick. It tasted like a ferrero rocher in cake form. The spongy meringue was slightly crunchy on the outside, but soft and moist on the inside, and went perfectly with the silky smooth hazelnut mousse. Yum!

Hazelnut Dacquoise (5.0)

Continuing with the confectionary-turned-dessert theme, we tried the violet crunchie (6.0) next. A beautifully deconstructed version of the classic chocolate bars, the honeycomb flavour rang through and through. The chunk on top was melt-in-your-mouth awesome.

Violet Crunchie (6.0)

The cherry and coconut concoction (6.0) was probably my least favourite dessert of the day. Perhaps it’s because I have an aversion to Cherry Ripes? Which is weird because I like chocolate, and I like cherries – I just don’t like them together. This number was more sour than sweet, which I was a little put off by, but I’m nitpicking here. It was still an enjoyable dessert.

Cherry & Coconut (6.0)

Comfortably full at this stage, G and I ummed and aahed over whether to call it a day. Then one of the wait staff (bless her) asked us if we wanted a never-ending bowl of soft-serve. To which the natural response was, “Um. Only heck yes!” And out came an epic bowl of chocolate-raspberry soft serve (5.0). It was chocolatey indulgence with a fresh, fruity twist. Mind you, we could barely get through that bowl, but hot damn, it was good.

Chocolate-raspberry soft serve (5.0)

We decided to give the macarons a miss since we had already sampled almost every flavour at the Manly store. We did, however, see this beast on our way out. I totally should have taken one home.

Adriano Zumbo at The Star is truly an experience like no other. His sweet works of art are made with such finesse and imagination. Forget trains of the steam or sushi variety; dessert trains are what’s up.

Adriano Zumbo Pâtissier on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Adriano Zumbo Pâtissier

  1. Great work!!! 🙂 You tried so many dishes at Zumbo hehe I still haven’t posted about them but really enjoyed the idea of the dessert train ~ damnn you didn’t try the donuts hehe that was delish! Ive never seen that big macaron! Now I want to try as well 😀 Oh wells next time!

  2. Thanks, Daisy 😀 Donuts, you say?! I don’t think they were on the dessert train that day 😦 I would have scarfed a few down if they were, haha. Why can’t they have a dessert train like this in Melbourne?! Adriano Zumbo needs to expand his horizons! 🙂

Leave a comment